2 Spaces Remain at 400 Augusta St.

Fourteen months after construction began on the former Claussen Bakery property, the Class A office and retail space at 400 Augusta Street is now 88% occupied, with McMillian Pazdan Smith Architecture as the largest tenant. Site Design, Inc. was responsible for providing the Land Surveying, Civil Engineering and Landscape Architectural services for this project.

claussen bakery buildingAccording to CBRE Inc., there are currently two spaces available: 3,923 square feet on the first floor and 1,487 square feet on the second floor. The two-story, 42,000-square-foot building was originally built in the 1930s and received a $6.3 million makeover that offers a unique blend of historic preservation and modern design. Amenities include indoor and outdoor bicycle racks, workplace showers and an outdoor patio area.

Site Design provided plans and specifications necessary for permitting and constructing the project. These included a topographic survey of the existing conditions, civil engineering services including schematic design, site grading and site infrastructure design, including utilities, water, sewer and storm drainage, and storm water quality and quantity design.

Site Design was also responsible for the landscape design, and obtaining the required permits from the City of Greenville and SCDHEC for construction of the project. Throughout the construction process, Site Design provided construction administration services to ensure the project adhered to approved plans and permits.

Other project partners include: 400 Augusta Street Investors LLC, developer; Harper Corp., general contractor; McMillian Pazdan Smith, architect; and CBRE, real estate services.

McMillian Pazdan Smith moved into the building Feb. 23, occupying 16,000 square feet. Other tenants include B.L. Harbert International LLC, Haley & Aldrich Inc., Tax Advantage Group LLC and Upstate Craft Beer Co.

Claussen Bakery occupied the historic building from 1930 to 1995. Several other bakery operations also occupied the building until late 2008.